MTHA to Hold Election for Board of Directors

ballot box1 EV0PThe MTHA’s election for the Board of Directors, held every three years, will take place again this summer.

All 15 directorships are up for election. Directors will be elected to a three-year term.

A nominating committee has been appointed to develop a slate of nominees to be presented to the general membership at an MTHA meeting on Thursday, June 12 at 5PM in the Director’s Room at Laurel Park. This committee consists of Linda Gaudet (chair), Tim Keefe, H. Neil Glasser, Larry Murray and Chris Bricker.

Any member who wishes to run for election should call the MTHA office at 410-902-6842 and plan to attend the June meeting.

In addition to announcing its nominees at the meeting in June, the nominating committee will receive nominations from the floor. Floor nominations need a verbal endorsement from at least four members and written consent from the nominee. Nominations will also be accepted by presentation of a petition bearing the signatures of at least five members and the nominee.

Ballots will be mailed to all members in July, with a return deadline scheduled for August.

Results will be announced in mid-August on and in the Horsemen's newsletter.

Also, new for this year is a change in how ballots are sent and processed. Previously all ballots were sent from and returned to the MTHA corporate office for counting by volunteers. However, starting with the 2014 election, all completed ballots will be mailed from and returned to a third-party company who specializes in corporate and non-profit elections. This election services company will count ballots electronically and certify the results.

Candidate profiles will be featured in a future Horsemen’s Newsletter issue.


Purse Release

150 DAY







Search Our Site