Beyond The Wire Reorganizes Directors

After consultation with various members of the Maryland thoroughbred industry, the Beyond The Wire Board of Directors has undergone some restructuring that makes it consistent with the organization’s bylaws. The action was taken during the annual meeting Aug. 19 at Laurel Park.

The Board now consists of 10 voting members, three non-voting members who comprise administration, and an advisory committee that currently stands at 12 members.

VOTING BOARD MEMBERS: Linda Gaudet (President), Georganne Hale (Vice President), Tim Keefe (Secretary/Treasurer), Dr. Michael Harrison, Marty Leonard, JoAnn Hayden, Ellen Charles Christine Bricker, Dr. John Sivick, Michael Golden

The voting board has members from key Maryland stakeholder groups including the Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association (Gaudet, Keefe and Charles), Maryland Jockey Club (Hale) and Maryland Horse Breeders Association (Harrison, Charles and Hayden). Golden is President of Northview Stallion Station, which provides 5% of stud fees to support the “sanctuary horse” aftercare population; Bricker is a Maryland owner and breeder; Leonard is a jockeys’ representative; and Sivick is a partner in the Maryland Veterinary Group based in Laurel.

NON-VOTING BOARD MEMBERS: David Richardson (Chairman of the Board, Jessica Hammond (Executive Director), Rosemary Lishia (Director of Finance).

ADVISORY COMMITTEE: Dr. Patty Hogan (Hogan Equine), Dr. Megan Kerford (Maryland Vet Group), Dr. Heidi Thomas (Maryland Jockey Club), Dr. Virginia Gilliam (Maryland Jockey Club), Jodi Rauso (Equine transportation), Mike Hopkins (Maryland Racing Commission), David Wade (Northview Stallion Station), Lisa Hofstetter (Northview Stallion Station), Victor Carrasco (Jockey colony), Dr. Libby Daniel (Maryland Racing Commission), Jillian Tullock (Maryland Jockey Club), and Lacey Gaudet (Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association).

As of July 31, Beyond The Wire had successfully placed 60 horses in 2022 and 544 overall since its launch in late spring of 2017. The organization is funded by corporate contributions (MTHA, MHBA, MJC and 1/ST Racing); owners through a per-start fee as well as donations; breeders; jockeys; Northview Stallion Station through a stud fee contribution; income from a 1.5% surcharge on claims; and general donations and fundraisers.


Horse injury Report

150 DAY







Search Our Site