MTHA Announces Major Impending Changes

Major leadership changes for the Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Association (MTHA) were announced during an Executive Session of the Board of Director’s held May 23, 2012 at Laurel Park.

MTHA Executive Secretary Wayne W. Wright, who has served 37 years with the horsemen's group in the region (first with the HBPA, then MTHA), announced that he would retire effective September 15, 2012.

In addition, MTHA President Richard J. Hoffberger pronounced his long held plan that he would resign his current title of President at the same time of Wright’s departure.  He said that this plan started to come together last year when the board hired David Richardson as Wright’s assistant and planned successor.

Hoffberger has been President of the MTHA since the group’s inception and he will continue to participate in MTHA activity as a member of the Board of Directors.  Principal among Hoffberger’s continued activities will be his participation in the negotiations with The Stronach Group on a long term plan for racing in Maryland and his involvement in legislative matters as a member of the Legislative Committee.

Also, Vice President Richard J. Meyer has since noted he will be stepping down September 15th as well.

In beginning the transition to new leadership, the Board also announced these changes:

  • The MTHA Finance Committee’s role will be expanded and Board member Michael F. Horning has been appointed to this Committee and will share Chairman duties with current Chairman Howard M. Bender.
  • The Board also established an ad hoc committee to review its bylaws and report back to the full Board with recommended modifications.
  • The Board also expanded it’s Legislative Committee, appointed Katy Voss to Co-Chair the Committee with current Chairman Arnold Heft and will focus on fundraising and joint efforts with Maryland Horse Breeders’ Association.
  • The Board authorized board member R. Larry Johnson to work closely with MTHA’s Accountant when analyzing Maryland Racing Proposals submitted by The Stronach Group.

Purse Release